All Opinion articles – Page 2

View all stories of the same content type.

  • Ann Harrison
    Opinion

    Topical application

    2019-10-01T00:00:00Z

    Law Management Section chair Ann Harrison outlines the topics we will be focusing on in the upcoming year, including the new regulatory regime

  • fiona-heald-600x400
    Opinion

    Turn of events

    2019-09-17T00:00:00Z

    Fiona Heald looks back at the annual conference, and ahead to our upcoming events and how we’re looking to support you in the year ahead

  • Warren Gordon
    Opinion

    Home truths

    2019-09-10T00:00:00Z

    Warren Gordon considers the government’s plans on leasehold, and looks ahead to our annual conference

  • Fiona Heald
    Opinion

    Keep on moving

    2019-08-06T00:12:00Z

    As the pace of life continues to accelerate, Fiona Heald considers what keeps a career in private client interesting and engaging

  • Pearl Moses
    Opinion

    All new look

    2019-07-31T13:00:00Z

    Pearl Moses introduces the redesigned Legal Compliance magazine

  • Ann Harrison
    Opinion

    A spring in our step

    2019-07-02T00:00:00Z

    Law Management Section chair Ann Harrison looks back at a busy spring for the Section, including our annual conference, the publication of our new Financial Benchmarking Survey, and a redesign of our magazine

  • Warren Gordon
    Opinion

    Ringing in the new

    2019-06-11T00:00:00Z

    Warren Gordon looks at some of the key wording in the new edition of the Law Society’s Code for Completion by Post

  • Fiona Heald
    Opinion

    Feeling the heat

    2019-05-14T00:00:00Z

    Fiona Heald laments further disruption to the probate process as the government carries on with its courts reform programme

  • Ann Harrison
    Opinion

    Lead time

    2019-04-09T00:00:00Z

    Law Management Section chair Ann Harrison considers what we can learn from Brexit about leadership and the importance of strategic thinking and influencing skills for today’s leaders

  • Warren Gordon
    Opinion

    Common cause

    2019-03-12T11:10:00Z

    Property Section chair Warren Gordon looks at the Law Commission’s proposals on commonhold

  • fiona-heald-600x400
    Opinion

    Speaking from experience

    2019-02-12T00:00:00Z

    Fiona Heald shares her frustration that solicitors’ knowledge and experience seems to count for less these days in the eyes of the public

  • ann-harrison2-380x253
    Opinion

    Fail to plan...

    2019-01-15T00:00:00Z

    As we kick off 2019, many firms will be starting their business planning cycle for the new financial year. But is your firm’s planning as good as it could be? Ann Harrison asks some searching questions

  • warren-gordon-600x400
    Opinion

    Cleaning house

    2018-12-05T00:00:00Z

    The government has turned its eye to change in the residential housing sector, from ensuring sufficient supply, to addressing escalating ground rents. Warren Gordon explains

  • glasses-in-front-of-coding-screen-on-laptop-380x254
    Opinion

    Should we invest in AI? Priorities and threats to the high street firm

    2018-11-23T16:25:00Z

    Joe Reevy offers his personal perspective on why law firms need to keep their focus commercial and to avoid getting distracted by the next big thing.

  • Fiona Heald
    Opinion

    Capacity confusion

    2018-11-06T00:12:00Z

    Modern institutions are well-equipped to handle a person’s death. So why do so many struggle once someone has lost capacity, asks Fiona Heald

  • ann-harrison2-380x253
    Opinion

    Summer daze

    2018-10-02T00:00:00Z

    On your sun lounger this summer, were you preoccupied with concerns about your firm: recruitment and retention, say, or Brexit, or narrowing profit margins? Ann Harrison looks at how the Section is helping you to navigate the challenges ahead

  • Fiona Heald speaking at annual conference 2018
    Opinion

    Face to face

    2018-09-18T00:15:00Z

    Fiona Heald recaps her highlights from this year’s annual conference, and recalls standout past events

  • warren-gordon-600x400
    Opinion

    Fall colour

    2018-09-05T00:00:00Z

    Property Section chair Warren Gordon provides updates on some of the key issues in property law and practice, including Dreamvar and leasehold, and looks ahead at the Property Section’s autumn events

  • Fiona Heald
    Opinion

    Practically speaking

    2018-08-07T00:01:00Z

    There is a plethora of training available for private client solicitors, but the practical detail is invariably lacking, says Fiona Heald . She explains how the Private Client Section is trying to do things differently

  • ann-harrison2-380x253
    Opinion

    Awards season

    2018-07-03T09:03:00Z

    Ann Harrison looks back at the Section’s annual conference and the implementation of the GDPR, and ahead to our autumn event and the Excellence Awards ceremony