The ratification of its membership was compteted after the abolishment of customs controls with Kazakhstan.

Customs controls at eight checkpoints along the Kyrgyzstan / Kazakhstan border would lift immediately creating a fair trade zone similar to the NAFTA agreement between the US, Canada and Mexico. Kyrgyzstan became the fifth member of the group (of Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus and Armenia).

Kyrgystan has borders with China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. Due to the country’s geostrategic position its membership may also become beneficial to other EEA countries if China decides to establish a new ‘Silk Road’ trade route.