Ireland is an island in the North Atlantic. It is separated from Great Britain to its east corner. Ireland is the second largest island of the British Isles and the third largest in Europe.

Politically, Ireland is divided between the Republic of Ireland (officially named Ireland), which covers five-sixths of the island, and Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom, in the northeast of the island.

Ireland is a parliamentary democracy. The National Parliament (in the Irish language, Oireachtas) consists of the President (an tUachtarán) and two Houses: a House of Representatives (Dáil Éireann) and a Senate (Seanad Éireann). The sole and exclusive power of making laws for the State is vested in Parliament. The functions and powers of the President, Dáil and Seanad derive from the Constitution of Ireland (Bunreacht na hÉireann) and law.

Ireland’s GDP stood at USD 238 billion in 2015 with a population of 4.5 million.

irish flag 2

How to practise in Ireland


Find out all you need to know about practising in Ireland