Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country in Central Asia, bordering Kazakhstan, China, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. It is located along the Silk Road, the ancient trade route between China and the Mediterranean.

Kyrgyzstan, officially known as the Kyrgyz Republic, declared its independence from the Soviet Union in 1991. It is defined by the 1993 constitution as a parliamentary representative democratic republic, whereby the President is head of state and the Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan is head of government.

Kyrgyzstan is a member of the OSCE, the Eurasian Economic Union, and the United Nations.

The Kazakh legal system is a civil law system.

flag of kyrgyzstan

How to practice in Kyrgyzstan


Information on how to practice in Kyrgyzstan

Your contacts for this region is Alexandra Squires-McCarthy


International Policy Adviser: Africa, the Middle East, and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)