The total area of Poland is 312,679 sq kms making the country the ninth largest economy in Europe. With a population of over 38.5 million people, Poland is the most populous post-communist member of the EU.

Poland is a democracy, with a president as a head of state, whose current constitution dates from 1997. Poland is a unitary state divided into 16 administrative subdivisions.

It joined the EU in 2004. Poland is the member of the UN, NATO, WTO, OECD, Visegrad Group and Schengen Area.

The Polish legal system is based on the civil law tradition.

How to practise in Poland

Find out all you need to know about pracitsing in Poland

tony fisher

Endangered Lawyers: Poland's creeping coup


Lawyers across Europe have a duty to make their voices heard and support their colleagues and judges in Poland whose independence is under threat at this very moment.

CCBE newsletter - October


The 66th CCBE newsletter is out - read more about the following topics:

All Latest News


Doing legal business in the Visegrád Group states - 5 September


On 5 September 2017, the Law Society hosted a seminar on “Doing legal business in the V4”, or Visegrád Group states.

All Events

poland flag

Doing legal business in Poland


Our series of Doing legal business reports provides an overview and guide to doing legal business in key international markets.

All Division Member Content

21439 gregor wozniak

Legal life in... Poland


Interview with Grzegorz Wozniak, founding and managing partner of Woźniak Legal

All Legal life in...

Your contacts for this region are Alex Storer and Eleanor Farrow

alex sq

International Policy Adviser: Europe


eleanor 08 v2

International Policy Assistant: Europe and the CIS