The Kingdom of the Netherlands is a small, densely populated country with three island territories in the Caribbean. Amsterdam is the country's capital, while The Hague holds the Dutch seat of government and parliament.

The Netherlands was one of the first countries in the world to have an elected parliament, and since 1848 it has been governed as a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, organised as a unitary state.

The Netherlands is a founding member of the EU and part of the Eurozone, G-10, NATO, OECD, WTO and the trilateral Benelux economic union.

The Netherlands is a civil law country.

Holland flag

How to practise in the Netherlands

Find out all you need to know about practising in the Netherlands