Germany is a federal parliamentary republic in Western-Central Europe. It consists of 16 constituent states (Bundesstaat) and covers an area of 357,021 sq kms with 81 million inhabitants. Germany is the most populous member state in the European Union. Its capital and largest city is Berlin. Germany is one of the founding members of the EU; is part of the Schengen Area, and became a co-founder of the Eurozone in 1999. Germany is a member of the UN, NATO, the G8, the G20, and the OECD.

The German legal system is a civil law system of comprehensive statutes.

German flag

How to practise in Germany

Find out all you need to know about practising in Germany


LLP status in Germany post-Brexit

The European single market and its four fundamental freedoms in Europe ensure that European lawyers and law firms can operate within a uniform, well-integrated and fully functioning market for legal services in which they can freely and automatically practise and establish themselves.

CCBE newsletter - October

The 66th CCBE newsletter is out - read more about the following topics:

ejustice logo

How to verify a European lawyer?

Use the European e-justice portal to find or identify lawyers from the EU and the EEA

eu and uk flag brexit 250x144

Brexit and the legal services sector in the EU

An overview of the UK legal service sector in the current European market place and potential changes post-Brexit

All Latest News

brexit 497x265

Legal consequences of Brexit - Seminar on 20 October

Join the Bar Council of England and Wales and Deutscher Anwaltverein (DAV)

All Events

Your contacts for this region are Alex Storer and Eleanor Farrow

alex sq

International Policy Adviser: Europe

eleanor 08 v2

International Policy Assistant: Europe and the CIS