Belgium is a constitutional monarchy organised along federal lines. Since the 1993 constitutional revision, there are three levels of government: federal government, regions (Brussels, Flanders and Wallonia) and linguistic communities (Flemish-, French- and German- speaking). Belgium is one of the founding members of the European Union and holds the seats of the European Commission, the Council of Ministers and the European Parliament when not in Plenary Session in Strasbourg. Belgium has the eighteenth largest economy in the world and is home to over 14,000 lawyers.

Belgium flag

How to practise in Belgium

Find out all you need to know about practising in Belgium

Brussels Podcast

Doing business in Brussels

Listen to our podcast ‘Doing business in Brussels’ with the President of the Dutch speaking Brussels Bar, Peter Callens; competition partner at Bristows, Stephen Smith, and head of the Law Society’s Brussels office, Dr Helena Raulus.

Axelle D'heygere picture

Legal Life in… Belgium

Interview with Axelle D’heygere, Associate at Clifford Chance LLP

CCBE newsletter - October

The 66th CCBE newsletter is out - read more about the following topics:

ejustice logo

How to verify a European lawyer?

Use the European e-justice portal to find or identify lawyers from the EU and the EEA

All Latest News

Your contacts for this region are Alex Storer and Eleanor Farrow

alex sq

International Policy Adviser: Europe

eleanor 08 v2

International Policy Assistant: Europe and the CIS