Uzbekistan is positioned on the ancient Silk Road between Europe and Asia. It is a landlocked country and bordered by: Kazakhstan and the Aral Sea to the north; Tajikistan to the southeast; Kyrgyzstan to the northeast; Afghanistan to the south; and Turkmenistan to the southwest. It is a unitary, constitutional, presidential republic. The Republic of Uzbekistan consists of 12 provinces, 1 autonomous republic (Karakalpakstan) and the capital city, Tashkent. Uzbekistan’s legal market is heavily weighted towards oil and gas and natural resources, with government-backed infrastructure projects also being a significant source of mandates.

uzbekistan flag

How to practise in Uzbekistan


Find out all you need to know about practising in Uzbekistan.

All How to practise in Uzbekistan


Introducing a PPP concept to Uzbekistan


Read the article by Centil’s Umid Aripdjanov to gain a better understanding of potential changes to Uzbekistan’s PPP law and arising opportunities

ben wells

Interview: Legal business in the CIS region


Interview with Ben Wells, Solicitor at Shepherd and Wetherburn

All Latest news

linkedin in stream tall   uzbekistan 2636505 1280

Law Society’s Business Delegation Visit to Tashkent – October 2019


The Law Society with support from the British Embassy in Tashkent is organising its first  English law day conference in Tashkent on 17 October 2019.

Missing image role (spin2_MAIN_oneColumn_half_twocolumn_column1_colour1)

English Law Summit in Kazakhstan


The Law Society in cooperation with the Bar Council of England and Wales organised a successful English Law Summit in Astana and Almaty from 23 to 25 April 2018.

All Events

Your contacts for this region are Chika Muorah and Eleanor Farrow


International Policy Adviser: CIS

eleanor 08 v2

International Policy Assistant: Europe and the CIS