Georgia is a country in Eastern Europe. It is surrounded by The Caucasus Mountains, the Black Sea, Russia, Turkey, Armenia and Azerbaijan.

The country's capital and largest city is Tbilisi. Georgia's territory covers 69,700 sq km, and its population was 3.75 million in 2015. The official language is Georgian but Russian, Armenian and Azeri are also among the spoken languages. 83.9% of the population is Orthodox Christian and 10% follow the Muslim religion.

Georgia is a unitary, semi-presidential republic, with the government elected through a representative democracy.

Georgia's GDP was USD 16.53 billion in 2014 (source: World Bank). The signing of the Association Agreement with the European Union (EU) in June 2014 and the coming into effect of the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA) in September 2014 are landmark achievements for Georgia resulting in greater policy certainty and business and consumer confidence.

georgia flag

How to practise in Georgia


Find out all you need to know about practising in Georgia.

All How to practise


The Law Society signs MOU with Georgia Anaklia City


An agreement to work together on areas of mutual interest

artem doudko

Russian Law Week: The Newest Tradition for English and Russian Lawyers


Russian Law Week provides a unique opportunity to English solicitors and barristers to obtain a true insight and to get answers from top professionals to all the questions about Russian law that they always wanted to ask. Read about the views and experiences of Artem Doudko, a Partner in the ...

All Latest news

Your contacts for this region are Chika Muorah and Eleanor Farrow


International Policy Adviser: CIS

eleanor 08 v2

International Policy Assistant: Europe and the CIS