Nigeria is a federal republic of 36 states. Abuja is the capital although Lagos is the largest city, not only in Nigeria, but in sub-Saharan Africa and is a significant regional commercial and legal hub. The Nigerian legal system is based on English common law modified by Nigerian rulings, the Constitution, customary law, Islamic (Shari'a) law and legislative enactments. The profession is the largest in Africa with 70,000 lawyers.


How to practise in Nigeria

Find out all you need to know about practising in Nigeria


Attend the Annual Conference of the Nigerian Bar Association Section on Business Law (NBA SBL) in Abuja

2016-04-25T15:07:00+01:00By James Shepherd

Do not miss your chance to attend the NBA SBL10th Annual Conference in Abuja from 22 -24 June 2016.

Nigeria connected

Sign up to our breakfast briefing - Nigeria's drive against corruption

2016-02-18T16:54:00+00:00By James Shepherd

Join us on Wednesday 23 March for a breakfast briefing on asset recovery. This event is being held in conjunction with the British Nigeria Law Forum.

All Latest News

Africa and the Middle East

Your contact for this jurisdiction is David McNaught

david mcnaught

International Policy Adviser: Africa and the Middle East