The statement is signed by Bar Councils and Law Societies from Austria, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, the UK and at a European level.

In a their joint statement, they strongly condemn any attempt to reinstate the death penalty in Turkey. The undersigned insist on the fact that Turkey is a member of the Council of Europe and a signatory of the European Convention on Human Rights. Consequently, Turkey is bound by Protocols 6 and 13 of the Convention which abolish the death penalty and also has ratified the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, aiming at the abolition of the death penalty.

Therefore, they call upon the Turkish government to respect its international commitments, recalling that Turkey has supported the recent World Congress Against the Death penalty held on 21-23 June 2016 in Oslo.

The statement was sent on Tuesday to President Erdoğan and relevant authorities in Turkey as well as key players at EU level (Commission, Council, Parliament, Council of Europe, European External Action Service, EU Fundamental Rights Agency). You can read the full statement in English and French attached.