The Horsfall Turner essay prize is a prestigious award presented to the best essay submission on a given topic every year.

It is designed to encourage young lawyers to engage with competition and European law.

The first prize is £1,000 plus a highly commended prize/s of £250. All winners were invited as guests to the Competition Section’s annual dinner, where their prizes were presented by the keynote speaker.

Winners of the Horsfall Turner essay competition 2018, Imogen Green (first prize), Jonas Levermann and Georgia Austin-Greenall (highly commended)


Find out more about the competition and read the winning 2019 essays


The Horsfall Turner essay prize list of previous winners




Keynote speaker


Earlier this year, experts from the European Commission (EC) and a UK Digital Competition Expert Panel both made recommendations to adapt competition law and policy to the challenges of the digital era. Do you think the EC was right to propose a presumption of anti-competitive conduct, effectively shifting the burden of proof for pro-competitive benefits onto platform operators?

First prize:

Imogen Green, Slaughter and May

Highly commended:

Georgia Austin-Greenall, norton Rose Fulbright LLP

Jonas Levermann, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP

Christina Blacklaws, former Law Society president


The judgment of the Court of Justice in the Coty case changes nothing for the selective distribution model. Discuss.

First prize:

Helena Connors, Bristows LLP

Highly commended:

Patrick Todd, Herbert Smith Freehills

Professor Richard Whish, president of the Competition Section and an Emeritus professor of law at King’s College London


What challenges does the digital economy present for the development of antitrust law?

First prize:

Anna Eckenroth, Herbert Smith Freehills

Highly commended:

Emile Abdul-Wahab, Ashurst LLP

Professor Carl Baudenbacher, president of the EFTA Court


What changes, if any, do you think should be made to UK competition legislation, and to the way it is enforced, in the event of a UK exit from both the European Union and the EEA?

First prize:

Ms Katherine Zinser, Slaughter & May.

Highly commended prizes:

Mr Adam Bruell, Hogan Lovells International LLP

Ms Chloe Kite, DLA Piper.

Dr Andrea Coscelli, acting chief executive of the Competition and Markets Authority.


’Brexit: what would it mean for the UK competition law landscape?

First prize:

Ms Jasminder Chaytor, Berwin Leighton Paisner

Highly commended:

Mr Ali Sadek, Freshfields

Ms Laura K. Elliott, Cooley (UK) LLP

Judge Ian S. Forrester of European Union General Court


Object or effect: where do competition authorities need to draw the line?”

First prize:

Aoife Monaghan, Linklaters LLP

Highly commended:

John Kwan, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP

Daniel Schwarz, Clifford Chance

Lord David Currie, chairman, Competition and Markets Authority


Will the UK Government’s proposed opt-out regime for collective damages actions facilitate redress for victims of competition law infringements to any significant extent?

First prize:

Daniel Carall-Green, Slaughter & May

Philip Lowe, non executive director of the Competition and Markets Authority and director general for energy, European Commission (former director general for competition)


Is the proposed removal of the ‘dishonesty’ element of the cartel offence a step too far?’

1st prize - William Leslie, Linklaters



Do you agree with the recent ECJ “Murphy” decision? (Cases C - 403/08 and C - 429/08)?

1st prize - Elizabeth Hookham, Linklaters



Are there circumstances in which the exchange of commercially sensitive information between competitors should of itself be considered to constitute an infringement by object under Article 101 TFEU?

1st prize - Kimberley Hall