Law Society Communities

Our communities help you develop in your professional life and make the most out of your Law Society

Find out more


South Africa

The Republic of South Africa, the most southerly African nation has a population of 42,000,000. The country is split into 9 provinces and is the only country to have three capital cities – Cape Town (the legislative capital), Pretoria (the administrative capital) and Bloemfontein (the judicial capital).

south africa

How to practise in South Africa

Find out all you need to know about practising in South Africa

south africa

A new regulatory framework for the legal profession in South Africa

16 January 2017

The legal profession in South Africa faces major changes from next year when the Legal Practice Act, 2014 (LPA) comes into full effect.

All Latest News

Africa and the Middle East

Your contact for this jurisdiction is David McNaught

david mcnaught

International Policy Adviser: Africa and the Middle East